Greatest Video Hits I

[discography | gallery]

Queen 'Greatest Video Hits I'

Released on 14 October 2002, and reached no 1.
Length 58 minutes (disc 1) and 76 minutes (disc 2).

DVD One Content:
1. Bohemian Rhapsody
2. Another One Bites The Dust
3. Killer Queen
4. Fat Bottomed Girls
5. Bicycle Race
6. You're My Best Friend
7. Don't Stop Me Now
8. Save Me
9. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
10. Somebody To Love
11. Spread Your Wings
12. Play The Game
13. Flash
14. Tie Your Mother Down
15. We Will Rock You (slow studio version)
16. We Are The Champions

DVD Two Content:
1. Now I'm Here (live video)
2. Good Old Fashioned Loverboy (Top Of The Pops performance)
3. Keep Yourself Alive
4. Liar
5. Love Of My Life (live version)
6. We Will Rock You (live fast version)
7. Inside The Rhapsody - The Bo Rap Story
8. Inside The Rhapsody - Making The Video
9. Inside The Rhapsody - Creating The Rhapsody
10. Inside The Rhapsody - The Greatest Song
11. Picture Gallery (Seven Seas Of Rhye)
12. Hidden video: Bohemian Rhapsody (flames promo video; accessible as title 9)


Produced by Simon Lupton and Rhys Thomas
Videos restored and enhanced by David Mallet
Sleeve notes and archive commentary compiled by Greg Brooks
DVD 1 surround sound mixes produced by Justin Shirley-Smith, except 'Bohemian Rhapsody' and 'You're My Best Friend', produced by Roy Thomas Baker and Brian May, and 'Spread Your Wings', produced by Justin Shirley-Smith and Tim Young.

Whilst this is essentially a DVD reissue of 'Greatest Flix', it adds a number of bonus videos and other material, whilst a few of the videos are slightly different. Also, all videos now have an introductory title, and end properly before the next track begins, rather than segueing into each other.

Both discs feature an edit of 'God Save The Queen' as the menu loads, and when you 'play all' videos, each video features an introductory black screen, with the title in the font used for the single sleeve. When you select an individual song, however, a colour screen is shown, showing the title, author, year, and single artwork.

All tracks on the first DVD are available in normal stereo, surround sound, or with audio commentary by Brian and Roger, with archive comments by Freddie and John. The video for 'Tie Your Mother Down' is identical to the original, but has a slightly different ending. The videos for 'Killer Queen' and 'We Will Rock You', whilst similar to the originals, are either edited differently or are from a different take. 'Bicycle Race' is a brand new video, whilst 'Fat Bottomed Girls' contains a unique 'hybrid' edit of the album and single version. 'Spread Your Wings' is a slight edit of the original.

The second DVD features the 'missing' videos from DVD 1 (length 23:42), featurettes on 'Bohemian Rhapsody', a picture gallery (which has an edit of 'Seven Seas Of Rhye', length 2:38), and weblinks. It also adds the 'flames' promo video of 'Bohemian Rhapsody' as a hidden track (title 9).

The 'Inside The Rhapsody' featurettes are as follows:
'The Bo Rap Story' features Brian and Roger both talking about the recording of the song, with footage from the video (length 8:46)
'Making The Video' features Roger talking about the video, with footage from it (length 6:00)
'Creating The Rhapsody' is a much longer feature, with Brian in a studio, discussing the track, and playing various excerpts from the original 24-track recordings. It features very interesting excerpts, but unfortunately Brian describes them over the top (length 27:13)
'The Greatest Song' features Brian and Roger receiving the award for the no. 1 single of all time, with a short interview (length 2:29)

For some reason, disc 2 title 1 contains most of the bonus tracks apart from 'Good Old Fashioned Loverboy', which is title 10. When you play all videos, it plays part of title 1, jumps to title 10, then jumps back to title 1 for the rest. I have no idea why this is, presumably it is for technical or copyright reasons.

The first disc was later released as part of the 'Greatest Video Hits' release in the USA in 2012, alongside the first disc from 'Greatest Video Hits II'. Although it included the same 16 tracks, it will probably have included a new menu to match the other disc.